San Pedro Preparation

Discussion in 'Cacti Delecti' started by guerillabedlam, Dec 21, 2010.

1. guerillabedlam

guerillabedlam _|=|-|=|_

I know there are many threads across the Internet with good information on procedures to prepare San pedro but this is my first time dealing with this method so some input/advice would be healpful.

Ive prepared San Pedro 4 times prior to this each time was either making the tea, eating the green flesh or a hybrid of the two. The hybrid method works extremely well for me as I usually gag on the tea, so I enjoy eating some as well.

This time I'm drying it out. I've despined, decored, deskinned and sliced off the green part and have swapped between the oven and fan drying for a day and a half now. I do not own a food dehydrator and its pouring rain outside so sun drying and dehydrator are not options. The material is still not completely dry and alot of it is starting to ger kind of reddish/brown, still alot of green though. I've heard the dry material referred to as 'cactus jerky' so I'm thinking its on its way but I also know mold and other crap can grow on it rather quickly so I'm making sure its not that before I proceed with the remaining cactus thats still not cut.

2. Ancient One

Ancient One Member

You have to slice it quite thin to have it dry into a crusheable potato chip, just the green layer only. In a warm dry place a fan blowing over it on high for a couple of days will usually do it nicely, but winter not so easy. See PM.

3. Ancient One

Ancient One Member

when dry, cactus chips are green; not brown or reddish. even if it doesnt dry and just turns into leather; still greenish...

4. guerillabedlam

guerillabedlam _|=|-|=|_

what about the inside part whitish/light green part could it be just remaining dying parts from that giving it the color because I do have a foot long uncut specimen and its getting reddish at well on the base where I cut.

5. Ancient One

Ancient One Member