Protein

Discussion in 'Vegetarian' started by matt, May 25, 2004.

1. matt

matt Member

Hey i'm new to the vegetable thing and i was wondering what to do about protein. Can you get all the protein you need from soy?

2. I drink soy protein every morning gives me more energy. it comes in this yummy powder it's like $15 last me 3 weeks or so

3. babovic_sonja

babovic_sonja Member

I don't get why everyone these days is so obsessed about protein deficiencies... :) I mean, it's kind of difficult to have a protein deficiency, unless you're living in an underdeveloped country and getting like 50g of food a day.

http://www.vegparadise.com/protein.html basically explains it all, but it's kind of long, be patient while reading it :).

I'm sure you can get all your protein from soy... but soy beans probably aren't the only vegetables you eat, are they? :D Good vegan sources of protein are also leguminous plants (beans, etc.) and grains (you probably eat bread, don't you? Quinoa is another great source :D)

If you're vegetarian, you'll probably be getting more than enough protein per day, just from dairy and egg products. 1 egg a day has all the protein you need :)

4. Sage-Phoenix

Sage-Phoenix Imagine

Ditto Sonja. Took the words out of my mouth darling. :D

Protein defiency is yet another misguided omni theory. It really isn't an issue at all.
    You could make soya your main protein source, but it might get a bit boring after a while. There are plenty of other sources.

TTFN

Sage

5. Loki84

Loki84 Member

Protein isn't an issue. It's easy enough to get it, whether you eat meat or not. As long as you aren't eating exactly the same foods all day long, you'll be sorted.

But when dealing with omnis who whinge about protein, I find that mentioning soy seems to be an easy way of shutting them up.

6. Sunburst

Sunburst Fairy

Some veggie foods actually have more protien than meat! Plus, it doesn't have artery-clogging fat or cancer-causing cells and crap like that:p