Please help: Talk between McKenna and Shulgins

Discussion in 'Psychedelics' started by pconst163, Apr 22, 2013.

1. pconst163

pconst163 Guest

Hi all. in this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaIAxd7al8w

terence and shulgins talk and at about 6:00, there is something that puzzles me.

I am new to this and I want to do psychedelics for a spiritual quest.
    What intrigues me is that terence says to shulgins: "you've seen more uncharted inner landscapes than half of the human population together". "How can you not be nuts?"

my question is. what are the implications that terence means ? After taking these psychedelics.... Also, what can be so amazing about it ? Do you guys see beings talking to you, other realities ? all kinda of inside us, but somehow we are protected from it and these drugs open or tunne we into these realities?

thank you very much

Paulo

2. MeatyMushroom

MeatyMushroom Juggle Tings Proppuh

"Nuts" is a relative term, and knowing Terence, that's probably his dry sense of humor. I haven't watched the vid cos Flash isn't working, but I dunno.

The only chance you have of going nuts is if your family is prone to any mental disorders, psychedelics have a chance to stir things up and trigger that. Otherwise, you'd be called nuts by the ignorant(not in a mean sense of the word), who're boxed in by social, political, environmental and other such influences.

The implications of taking a psychedelic drug are... life changing. They give you a chance to experience and see the essence of life for yourself, beyond environmental conditioning(one reason you might be called nuts, as stated above).
    For spiritual use, I'd recommend taking alongside a good dose of eastern philosophy of some sort, I find it grounds the experience a lot more and it just seems "easier" to condense and apply to day to day life.

I've never seen beings talking to me, but I haven't smoked DMT. In sober reality, that shouldn't be happening. If it does then, uhh... D'OH!