My Life In Who's Hands?

Discussion in 'U.K.' started by EarthWhirler, Jun 7, 2004.

1. EarthWhirler

EarthWhirler Member

Last week I was sacked.

I had been managing a smallish book shop for about 9 months, with the boss from Hell. I couldn't do anything right for him, when he hired me he wanted me to bring new ideas to the shop and to use my initiative, but of course, as so often is the case with small business men, he didn't really want me to change anything.

It became apparent to me after discussions with the staff and the previous manager that he was a prick. :) He threatened to sack me on a couple of ocassions without any grounds. What it basically came down to was the fact that the shop wasn't taking as much money as he wanted and naturally, it was my fault.
    I'm not very well known on these boards so I'm just gonna big myself up for a sec. I don't agree with the idea that everyone should get a job. I've always been a firm believer that if you're going to work; it should be something you really want to do, after all 40 hours a week is a big chunk of your life. But I have done crap jobs and I am a hard worker. I also believe that if you are going to do something - do it well and try to enjoy it. Most of my work life has been spent with the public, and strangely, I like customers! I'm always friendly, give good service (of the clean variety) and, well, I'm the person everyone should have working in their shop! Anyway, point is, I was good at my job and he was a prick to let me go. Interestingly, he's taken on the old manager temporarily despite telling me that she wasn't very good at the job and she hated being in the shop!