My First Book

Discussion in 'Writers Forum' started by ClaireCat, Oct 11, 2018.

1. ClaireCat

ClaireCat Just an Ordinary Girl in an Ordinary World!

About a year ago I had a really vivid unusual dream. When I woke up I wrote down briefly what it was. I know it will make the most amazing Sci Fi book because it was so far out I have no idea how my brain even dreamt it in the first place!
    Anyway i've started writing it, I even did a lot of book planning pre starting to write it! But i've come across writers block because i've never done this before!
    So if anyone can give me some advice on how to continue I would be grateful!

2. Born25YearsTooLate

Born25YearsTooLate Hunting the mighty whifflesnark

some questions/ideas/tips.

determine what it's gonna be about - seems you've got that - that's usually one of the hardest parts.

work on it every day - set a daily word count goal.

set aside time to work on it every day - lots of people say 'oh, I'll skip today and catch up tomorrow' and then wind up sunk by that.

set aside a specific place to write - back porch, coffee hut, zoo, etc - doesn't matter where, after a while just being in that space puts you in the writing frame of mind

set a total word count - 75k words is typical for a novel

give yourself weekly goals/deadlines - generally a word count, so it keeps you honest and objective.

get feedback, and get it early - get a trusted friend to read your stuff, tell them you want them to note if there are plot holes, if things don't make sense, etc and tell you about it.

no matter what - finish the book. nobody cares about what someone 'almost' wrote. once you have a finished manuscript, then you can do cleanup on it, tidy it up a bit, polish it. but you've got to have something to work /with/ first.