Moderate anxiety

Discussion in 'Mental Health' started by luke47, Jun 3, 2007.

1. luke47

luke47 Member

Im a freshman in college and this is the first time I've started to feel that I'm having a problem with my anxiety. I started to realize it was a problem when I felt like I was going to puke from worrying on exams that I know I have no problems with. I ended up getting the highest grades in the class on them. I would obsesivly study for these exams in the days prior to them spending all my time studying. I'd worry about tests weeks in advance , theyd allways just be on my mind. I never felt comfortable once going into an exam.

I also have always been slightly anti social. I have good friends and a number of them but I would always feel anxius around other people. Now I'm in summer school and my friends are not here and I'm spending most of my time alone rather than find new friends. I dont like that.

I can get free psychiatric and I may go that route but I'd figure I'd get an opinion here first.

Thanks

2. I'minmyunderwear

I'minmyunderwear Newbie

go for the free psychiatric. if you don't want to continue after the first session you can quit and it won't cost you anything, and it may help

3. jimaug87

jimaug87 Member

It never hurts to talk to someone so you may as well seek out the free counseling.

I know saying this never helps, but frm what you described it sounds pretty normal. You in a new enviorrnment with a lot of pressure on you, and your feeling that pressure and don't want to mess up your exams. Your alone most of the time and your feeling lonely. It may be something bigegr then that, but lets hope for the best anyway. If that fee psyciatric turns out to suggest medication, DON'T TAKE IT. If I'm right then they'll probly see it too, but there are always stories about mis diagnosis and over aggressive treament.

Good luck and let us know how your feeling.

4. luke47

luke47 Member

ok im gonna call tommorow and get an appointment