Math and Physics Textbooks for fun reading

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction Books' started by etkearne, Jun 3, 2011.

1. etkearne

etkearne Resident Pharmacologist

I am a bit biased on this since I am a grad. student in Mathematics, but even amongst my graduate peers, I find that I enjoy reading Math and Physics texts way more than the average person in my department. Unfortunately, that has NOT correlated to me excelling over them academically! It doesn't matter, though, I just love to read whatever texts I can get my hands on.

So who else likes leisurely reading math/physics/science textbooks? It is like a totally different breed of book. It is like comparing how to read a newspaper to how to read a novel. Very different, but both fun.

I found that in my junior year of undergrad., I would go into the university library and pick out random textbooks on material that seemed interesting but not of which I was taking as a course at the time. I also spent a year of essentially doing nothing between the Spring I graduated and the summer of the next year, so I really got interested in reading textbooks.

My favorite ones have no pictures, lots of crazy notation to decipher (my version of doing a Sudoko), and generally concise (like 200 or less pages).

I am really happy now, since at my grad. program, I recently have been given access to the database of Springer Publishing (the most famous math and science publisher these days) e-books. It took awhile to get used to e-books, but I use an iPad, so it is easy on the eyes, and saves paper!

Sorry to ramble, but I thought I'd see who else likes textbooks.

2. Just_a_woman

Just_a_woman Member

I also think it is fun. My husband is also a very keen reader of this kind of books. We have never run out of interesting subjects to discuss. I'd say only 1% of what he reads is fiction.

We also have a common interest on statistics.

3. VioletJourney

VioletJourney Member