Living Wage?

Discussion in 'Politics' started by dhs, Jun 16, 2004.

1. dhs

dhs Senior Member

I also posted this in consumer advocacy, but this forum gets more trafic

Here's the thoughts

What are your thoughts on a Living Wage? Good for the people, bad for business? How do you think it would effect the economy?

As a career restaurant manager, I know that the places I ran would essentially go out of business if I had to pay everyone a living wage, which nationally is near abouts $10 an hour.

Having said this, I feel that ALL adults should be afforded a living wage. Certainly, anyone if they want it bad enough can go to school and make a decent living - there are people who have come from the streets / homeless people, who have been able to this. However, it is very hard and well, school's not for everyone.

Perhaps a portion of the the taxes on the very wealthy (5% of the people in this country control 95%) of the wealth - should be used to subsidize those who earn below a living wage.

The tax cuts that Bush gave the wealthy were based on trickle down economic theory, which it is proven does not work. Perhaps this is a better way to stimulate the economy and make life a bit easier for the poor.

2. riptiderevolucion

riptiderevolucion Member

For two years I worked a job that paid $6.30/hour and I worked about 35 hours a week. I lived in a nice 2 bedroom townhouse which I shared with one other person. My car's paid for but I did have to pay insurance on it. I had enough money to pay my bills, eat, go out every so often, buy weed, etc. I never used a credit card. None of my friends could believe I was living on so little money. Now, if my car blew up I was fucked, and I had no health insurance. But all in all I was living quite comfortably.