Introductions

Discussion in 'Introduction to Buddhism' started by shaman sun, Oct 23, 2007.

1. shaman sun

shaman sun Member

Hello everyone. First thing is first - this is an open learning experience. Meaning, although I'm considered the 'instructor,' I am sure we can all learn from each other. You know the saying, "The teacher is the taught," - I feel that applies here especially. So, what brings you here? What interests you about Buddhism? This thread is meant for us to get acquainted, so introduce yourself!

I'm a Junior at Fordham University, NYC. I have been studying and practicing Buddhism for about four years now, diving heavily into authors such as Alan Watts, Ken Wilber, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, Jiddu Krishnamurti, Bruce lee, Wei Wu Wei, Lama Surya Das, Ramana Maharshi, and so many more. As far as my personal practice, I have been steadily working with Zen and more recently Dzogchen, a Tibetan form of Buddhism. I'll do my best to share with you what I've learned, and what I'm learning. If you have any suggestions for this class you're encourage to put them out here for us.

As far as teaching this class goes . . . I'll be posting a series of threads which will describe the essentials of Buddhism. There will be no homework (Phew), but plenty of material to explore. I'll also put up a Resources page - just full of links, videos, essays and books for everyone to make use of.

2. Divinaeon

Divinaeon Member

Well, as a Quaker (Religious Society Of Friends) I'm always looking for wisdom from all walks of life and different religions to enhance my own beliefs. Buddhism is something I haven't explored too much, but I believe it would help me to view things with a different outlook. I'm really excited for this class!

3. wildflowereyes

wildflowereyes Senior Member

My name is Maryanne (you can call me MA). I'm a taoist-buddhist, but I never feel I know enough about what "buddhism" means to really say I am one. So I hope this helps.

4. lovelyxmalia