Introduction

Discussion in 'Indian Vegetarian Cooking' started by Bhaskar, Jan 19, 2008.

1. Bhaskar

Bhaskar Members

Hi all!

I'm Bhaskar Raman, your guide through the wonderful world of Indian cooking. Although I was raised in India, until I turned 23 all I could make was lemonade and a mess. And the lemonade wasn't very good.

But then I moved to America and the harsh necessities of life taught me the culinary skills that I intend to share with y'all. I'm by no means an expert, but I have made every mistake there is, so I usually know the pitfalls.

But enough about me! Tell me all about you, and don't forget to mention how much you already know about Indian food (at least from eating it).

love and oatmeal,

Bhaskar

2. appleblossombumblebe

appleblossombumblebe Member

Hello and thank you so much for sharing your knowledge. I love Indian food but know very little about how to cook it. I am not a vegitarian though I believe I need to eat a more meatless diet for health reasons. I purchased spice mixes from a local indo-european grocier. Would you recommend these mixes or is it best to cook from scratch? Is Indian food fattening? My favorite dishes tend to be the saucey dishes (Tikka Masala, Makhani, Saag, Vindaloo). I especially love garlic naan and basmati rice (mmmm!) If I could eat nothing but Indian food for the rest of my life, I would! Thanks again! Apple

3. Bhaskar

Bhaskar Members

If you're careful to include variety, Indian food is very very healthy and won't make you fat. You can use spice mixes, but we'll get to that when we get to that.

4. usfcat

usfcat CaterCreeps

Wow I'm excited about this class. Indian food is my favorite and i LOVE to cook it. I'm partial to channa masala and naan <3 Looking to learn anything I can. thanks for starting this course :)

5. Bhaskar

Bhaskar Members

Welcome!

6. squawkers7

squawkers7 radical rebel