Introduction

Discussion in 'Creative Writing' started by lovelyxmalia, Oct 21, 2007.

1. lovelyxmalia

lovelyxmalia Banana Hammock Lifetime Supporter

Hello everyone! This is my introduction thread. I’d like to know about:
    You
    Your style of writing
    Why you signed up for this class
    (so I can help you achieve any goals you want out of this)

I’m currently a freshman at Quinsigamond Community College in Worcester, Massachusetts. I’ve co-taught creative writing classes with a former professor quite a few times. This past year, I branched out and taught a few of my own (all of them were free, on my own time, at a few local low-income high schools) and I began a writers circle with a few people in the area. We meet up at local cafés a few times a month to coach each other along and share our current pieces.

My style of teaching:

DON’T CONSIDER ME AN ‘INSTRUCTOR’! WE ARE ALL IN THIS CLASS. I AM JUST SHARING THE IDEAS FOR IT. Consider me to be the coordinator of a project you are working on by completing this class.
    I’m not going to FORCE you to turn things in. All of the topics that I give are due in 2 weeks from the date given. The only reason I ask for due dates is so we can all share our pieces. I will be doing them with you and sharing them, also. You don't have to post them if you don't feel comfortable with your work, but I urge you to post so we can see your talent. I want constructive criticism, NO BAD MOUTHING OTHERS WORK!

I am here to help you individually, also. If you need help/ideas, please message me. I want us all to be able to help each other. If there is something you’d like to incorporate into the class, also, please let me know and I will introduce it to the class. If you find you are having a problem with the class/me/another student, please message me.