If you could learn one language....

Discussion in 'The Whiners' started by Spacer, Jan 9, 2005.

1. Spacer

Spacer 'Enlighten yourself'

What would it be??

I can speak Irish, English, some German and a very small amount of Spanish (I only started learning it a few months back). I'd love to get fluent at German and improve my Spanish but one other language I'd really love to learn is Japanese, although whatever about learning how to speak it I'd say learning a whole new writing system would be a headfuck. Anyway there's nowhere near me to learn it so I may just concentrate on the others but I still think it'd be real cool to learn.

2. Orsino2

Orsino2 Hip Forums Supporter HipForums Supporter

I speak English, French, and can also speak some acadian, a bit of bahasa indonesia, and guinea, which is a lot like acadian...

3. rhasta.penguin

rhasta.penguin No more hippy...ugh

if it were possible for me to learn a language, i would learn japanese. I took two years of spanish, learned nothing, took two years of latin, really learning nothing...

4. MoonjavaSeed

MoonjavaSeed Yeah, Toast!

french or hawaiian.

5. soulrebel51

soulrebel51 i's a folkie.

I used to be able to speak Japanese quite fluently, but it's been years since I've spoken/studied the language... I could read and write the alphabet, but I didn't know any kanji :p

I'd really like to learn German... and Spanish. But I will most liekly start teaching myself German after I move. I won't have much else to do... :H

6. Bloody_Kisses

Bloody_Kisses Thizzler

japanese. im good with the writing just not the speaking.....

7. goldmund

goldmund Member

I know it says one language, but, well, you know. Ok, here's the list in order of priority:
    1) German - because I live in Germany, and I suck because I can't speak the language :). Also very important for academics, esp. in Philosophy, Theology, etc.