I Need A Tye Dye For Dummies Manual!

Discussion in 'Flashbacks' started by SyrinX, Jun 8, 2004.

1. SyrinX

SyrinX Member

HEY GANG!

would anyone post me some pointers and help to get into tye dying! I need to know evrything where to get dye and what kind you need what other kind of gear you need and pretty much how to do it!

THANKS GUYS!

peace!

S...X

2. deezee

deezee Member

hi syrinX

i do tye dying as i design a children's clothing line and did my whole spring/summer line on tye-die. but i use my own formula for the dye as my background is in painting (MFA) and i make my own. however the place to get all the information you need is called dharma trading. they are in san leandro california. they have an 800 number so call the 800 info operator and they will give it to you. ask for a catalog. they have all sorts of dyes and the books that give you the information you need. they are an invaluable source as their catalogue alone has all the instructions for doing this and and they sell beginner's kits as well.

if you can't get the number. post that here i will try to remember to post it for you.

have fun!

deezee

3. Acorn

Acorn Member

ive never tryed it, but would rit dye work?

4. deezee

deezee Member

nope. you won't be able to get the water hot enough and it will wash out after one or two washings anyway. you need what's called a fiber reactive dye but there are much EASIER ways too. so either contact the place i have listed above for a catalogue (or their website which i assume is dharmatrading.com) or go to your local arts and crafts place and they can probably help you.

hope this helps.

deezee

5. Platinum_twf

Platinum_twf Member

6. drumminmama

drumminmama Super Moderator Super Moderator

go to www.dharmatrading.com for instructions and black (better black) dye.

look into a Jacquard kit for a beginner box.
    kits are on page 14 of the print catalog.
    Use Procion. Not RIT. RIT will waste your time and money and the garment.