Heat sensor chopper myth?

Discussion in 'Cannabis Legal and Security Issues' started by azezal, Mar 27, 2007.

1. azezal

azezal Member

Firstly I am new to growing, but think that the myth that infared heat sensors that people talk about on police choppers, can spot a farm from the sky being grown in an attick is a myth.

Firstly, I know someone who does maintanence on these devices. They are developed to spot hot objects that do not have cover. Anyone watched one of those police programs and noticed the trouble they have spotting people in a forest, let alone inside a building. I know they can still spot you in a forest but the trees make their work hard. Now compare a room temparature of 25c to the average 20c that most people have. Not a big difference and not big enough to make the average empty attick look that much different from the average farm. Even with the most basic insulation your attick probably would not look any different from any other.

This is all theory, so don't take my word for it. Someone I'd met got raided and claimed it was because his farm was spotted by a chopper at night chasing a stolen car. More likely he let everyone know he was growing and one jealous arse grassed him up.

Please don't take my advice without questioning it first, as I am not an expert, just thought I'd express the opinion that your best mate is more likely to grass you up than a chopper in the sky spotting your weed farm.

2. T.H. Cammo

T.H. Cammo Member

HID grow lights are HOT!!! Alot hotter than 98.6f (body temperature). I think an uncooled reflector hits about 400f. That's a pretty good target!

3. BudBill

BudBill Dark Helmet

I think they just had a court ruling (in the US) its either that thermal imaging cannot be used as a basis for a warrant or you need a warrant to use it.

Based on that and like THC mentioned the lights are really hot it seems like thermal imagining works.