Harvard University accused of racism against Asian applicants

Discussion in 'Higher Ed' started by hotwater, Aug 30, 2018.

1. hotwater

hotwater Senior Member Lifetime Supporter

Harvard University has been accused of racism against Asian students because of perceived negative personality traits, according to court documents filed on Friday.

The 388-year-old institution is being sued by Students for Fair Admissions, an action group, for discriminating against Asian applicants.

The group commissioned an analysis of more than 160,000 applicants who applied for admission from 2000 to 2015, which showed that Asians were given lower scores on “personality” traits - likability, courage, kindness and being “widely respected”.

I live 10 miles from Cambridge so I’m familiar with the Harvard Campus, and I while I have no personal knowledge or facts to back up their claim, I trust my eyes, and unlike other schools in the area like Brandeis, M.I.T., Boston College, and Boston University, which are top heavy with Asians, The Harvard University campus feels more diversified, and to be perfectly honest it feels more comfortable walking around the campus.

Harvard accused of racism against Asian applicants

2. Irminsul

Irminsul Valkyrie

I believe those traits have little to no outcome on passing through university and getting employment or a future so I hope the Asians win this. :)

3. hotwater

hotwater Senior Member Lifetime Supporter

Personally I like the demographic makeup of the Harvard campus as it stands today

4. Irminsul

Irminsul Valkyrie