First encounter with cops...what could i do better next time?

Discussion in 'Busted!' started by powerquest, May 18, 2014.

1. powerquest

powerquest Member

Hi all.

I'm a college student and the other day my friends and I were smoking pot from a vape and homemade bong (so we had paraphernalia) in pretty out of the way location on campus. As we were walking back to dorm, we saw a cop pulling up to where we were hanging out, and he followed us and stopped us while we were walking back. This was about 4 am. First he asked what we were doing, we said "just hanging out", then he asked if we had any spray paint, which surprised us. Apparently there was lots of graffiti on a nearby bridge and they had just cleaned it up. We said no, so he asked us a few more times what we were up to before he split us up. We were all pretty clear minded and weren't acting high. Did he have reasonable suspicion?

First I went with the original story until he asked if we were smoking pot, and I started off with the whole 5th amendment thing just to try it out, but then he said something about a "reasonable request from a campus police officer" so I kinda lost my nerve and told him.

I didn't get in trouble, as my friend was carrying everything, and he got potential community service after they talk to the student discipline board or something. So it wasn't a big deal and the cop was pretty nice about it, except he took my friend's magic flight launch box (let him keep the batteries though). :( Poor guy.

What could I do better next time (esp. as far as exercising rights)?

Thanks!

2. Gongshaman

Gongshaman Modus Lascivious

Be more discrete, don't smoke pot in public, if they ask you if you are smoking pot say no, smile and be polite.
    Stand up for your rights only when you learn not to be an idiot when confronted by the cops.

3. powerquest

powerquest Member