First audition ever and i'm scared as hell!

Discussion in 'Performing Arts' started by lazysunbird, Jun 12, 2006.

1. lazysunbird

lazysunbird Member

Next thursday i'm auditioning for lead singer for a semi-prog rock band. I'm so, so nervous as i've never done anything like this before. I've never even sang infront of anyone besides my sister. I'm just really scared that i'm either going to be so nervous that i muck up my singing or that they'll think i have an awful voice, or worse, both will happen! I guess i'm just wondering if anyone has any tips or ideas for keeping my nerves under control and boosting my confidence a little.

2. bird_migration

bird_migration ~

Think of everyone looking at you naked and you will perform like you never performed before.
    I hope this helps and good luck.

Love, bird.

3. SLammon420

SLammon420 Senior Member

Try and sing for as many people as you can before the audition to get used to audiences. Just be confident too.

4. revolution_time

revolution_time Member

practice the song again and again. and then sing it for a variety of people. i use to be really nervous too, and i found if i could get the song engrained in my mind, i wouldn't even have to think about singing. it would just come. and then i could worry about facial expressions, and entertaining my audience. or, if that's too much, as it use to be for me, you can sorta "zone out" and just go through the motions. hope that helps.

5. Politics are awesome

Politics are awesome Politics suck

yes yes, practice practice practice. good luck!

6. lazysunbird

lazysunbird Member

Thanks! I need to learn 2 new songs, hopefully i can get them memorized by then! :S

7. lalalamort

lalalamort Fucked up upstairs

Hey Lazysunbird

tell me when/if you ahve gigs and ill come

( being from sydney also)

8. lazysunbird

lazysunbird Member

I'll definetly do that if all goes well. If it doesn't work out with this band hopefully i'll find another band to join or start one myself.