Experiences of telling parents...

Discussion in 'Barefoot' started by danmo, Apr 3, 2007.

1. danmo

danmo Member

Hello one and all!

I'm a 30yr old guy living in the north west of sunny old England. I'm fairly new to this Barefoot lifestyle (and to this forum too - its' fab to have so many like minded people in one place!) - I've been barefooting since September last year, and am taking as many opportunities as I can to go barefoot as it's so cool!

I've started being a bit braver going barefoot with friends and at the church I go to (I lead worship sometimes, and although a few people have questioned my lack of shoes, they seem fine with it once I tell them that I just enjoy it, it's more comfortable than wearing shoes etc.). However, I still haven't told my (always shod) parents as I'm worried what they may think.

I thought i would tap into the large experience base of this forum - Have any of you got any words / stories of encouragement or advice on how best to broach the subject with them, as I feel they should know, but don't know how to tell them?!

Thanks in advance.

D.

2. Cool Spruce

Cool Spruce Member

For some reason, telling one's parents about some of these alternative lifestyles is the hardest thing to do. I've seen my share of it unfortunately. You've got to do what you've got to do, regardless. My dad always knew I was a real shorts and sandals freak, living in a cold climate, seemed to drive him nuts when I was younger. He finally got over that, but in the last year of his life here, he looked down and saw my toe ring. Seemed rather disgusted. Probably was a girly thing to him. It is since then that I've gotten more bravely into public barefooting. My mother is still alive, doesn't quite get all the bf stuff, but absolutely supports my shorts thing, in this nosey small town. Thing is, I'm clean about it all, and I work outside, and I think it looks right for me, despite my not being quite so young any more.