Cabinet growing-need advice

Discussion in 'Marijuana Growing Techniques' started by ReadySetGreen!, Jun 26, 2006.

1. ReadySetGreen!

ReadySetGreen! Member

So, here is the deal. I'm new to growing, and as I have limited space to practice my hobby, I decided on the method of cabinet growing. The dimensions I am building this box is 5 feet tall, 4 feet wide, and 4 feet deep. My intentions are to grow enough for personal use only, so I'm am only going to grow 2-4 plants. I am growing from bagseed, being a newbie.
    I have not decided fully on what to line the walls with, the many reflective surfaces the grow guides recommend, or perhaps a simple white paint job. I'm big on simplicity. Each corner will have a fluorescent light going vertical and at the top I'm building an adjustable rack of more fluorescents. I know most of you recommend the better lights, but being a beginner, I am going for simplicity and ease of use. If I am at all successful, I will probably upgrade. The parts to the box I'm building are designed to be interchangeable.
    For ventilation I have four computer case fans making a larger square for both intake and exhaust. Thats 8 fans alltogether. Light leakage is of course an issue, so I was thinking of building like a tunnel around it, that has a couple of bends so light can't get around all the corners. (that make sense? sorry, i'm a tad fried atm) Inside the actual cabinet, I plan to place a couple of small oscillating fans in the upper corners for air movement and to help temperature control.
    So really, I'm leaving it up to you guys to give me any advice that you feel I might need. Are there flaws in my logic? Do you think temperature might be an issue? Odor control? Are the dimensions allright? Really, any and all input you might wish to impart to this poor newbie would be greatly appreciated, and greedily accepted and consumed. Thanks for your time.

2. buffoonman

buffoonman Senior Member