AP exams?

Discussion in 'Higher Ed' started by Lizz, Jan 8, 2005.

1. Lizz

Lizz Member

I'm in AP European History right now, and the class is almost over (in one week... we're on a block schedule.) Anyway, this is my first AP class (I'm only a sophomore), and I was wondering if anybody had any good prep advice. In the past week we've been going over basic stuff, and I bought the prep book from princetonreview, but I'd also appreciate any advice from anybody who's taken the test. Or, any AP exam for that matter, but specifically European History. I'd like to get at least a 4 on the exam - the colleges I've been looking into want a 4 or 5 for credit, and if I can get all my basic classes out of the way through APs (I'm taking AP Gov, Calc, and Chem next year, hopefully AP Bio, Lit, Spanish Lang, and Stats senior year), it'll be great. We did a practice test together in class yesterday, and it was actually alot easier than I thought. Definately alot easier than the tests we had been taking in class. I actually wasn't sure if I wanted to take the AP exam or not, but my teacher said a few months ago when he asked who of us planned to take it "I'm going to MAKE a certain few of you take the exam". I have the highest grade in the class and am sort of a novelty - only sophomore in a sea of seniors. I have a feeling he'll be writing some of my college recs. ;)

Another question - would you reccomend taking AP exams for classes you haven't taken? I know they let you, but I was wondering if it was recommended. I'm taking Physics I and Physics II this year, and we have no AP physics classes, so I thought of maybe taking the exam.

2. sugrmag

sugrmag Uber Nerd

My little brother took quite a few AP exams without taking the classes. Like Calc BC, Physics, Bio, and Chem. The only thing is, I THINK, that if you don't take the classes, you have to pay to take the tests.