another way to be a parent for your child??

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by sef, Jun 3, 2004.

1. sef

sef Member

i am trying to write a research paper on transcendentalism and the effects of this on various aspects of life.

if you had a child and raised it as it had no certain parent figure just as the whole commune was the same, would you and why?

i was wondering how a child raised in a commune would develop spiritually

need replies fairly soon

sef

2. sef

sef Member

yo
    im trying to write this as you thinkabout replying and see this... please

3. Maggie Sugar

Maggie Sugar Senior Member

Hmmmm, you might want to wait more than 20 minutes before getting upset. ;)

I would not think communally raising a child is a good idea. I mean, raising a child IN a commune is fine, but every Child Development study ever done has shown children need to bond to one or two caregivers to develop normally. (I have a Master's in Child Dev, so I have read only about 5000 of these studies.)

You can look at the experiement in Israel, in the Kibbutz where childrne were raised in groups and NOT by their parents. There is a HUGE amount of attachment disorders, problems with having relationships later in life, lots of phobias and fears and distrust of intimacy among people raised in these parent-free Kibbutzes in the 60s and 70s. It was an experiment gone horribly wrong.

Children NEED a mama, no exceptions.

4. RyvreWillow

RyvreWillow Member

There's no way i would let other people raise my kids, even if it was my own family.

My personal opinion is that if anyone wanted to raise their children this way (and i am NOT bashing the commune idea, but the parent-free one), it's only because they have no real interest in their child, and are trying to get away with taking no responsibility. Alot of people do the same thing, by leaving their children with Grandma or whoever for weeks or months or even years at a time.

5. Earthy Mama

Earthy Mama Feel my wrath... ;)