All of a sudden I felt the need to type this...

Discussion in 'Japan' started by likeWOAHitsMia, Feb 24, 2008.

1. likeWOAHitsMia

likeWOAHitsMia Member

Ok so I'm a college student and my minor is Japanese. I'm extremely interested in Japanese culture and possibly spending 1 or 2 semesters at Hirosaki University before I graduate.Well I was doing some research on Japan as well as talking to the Japanese exchange students on campus and I have to say there are some things that are bothering me.

First off there's this thing called "Uchi-Soto" (inside-outside) it's bascially an "us vs them" attitude that the Japanese as a whole have towards the whole world. So for example if an American or someone from another country came to visit Japan they would be though of as "Soto" and would be treated very kindly, given much flattery, etc. But if that foreigner decides to try and assimilate into Japan, like become a citizen or live there permanently then there's a major problem. For the Japanese it would be like "woah what r u doing? you're trying to be one of us? well u can't be one of us." This is called the "Gaijin Complex" (gaijin means outsider). Then of course there'd the younger generation that likes anything western and that thinks Americans are cool. For them it's like a fashion statement to have a foreign friend, it's also an opportunity for them to practice their english.