A little helping hand please??

Discussion in 'Judaism' started by ArtLoveMusic, Dec 29, 2004.

1. ArtLoveMusic

ArtLoveMusic Senior Member

Heya all.
    I am an athiest..i guess ... well i have my own set of theories and ideas but no faith or beleif (some would say this is a sad thing however i revel in the fact that it means i can enjoys the faith which everyone else has in their own seperate religions without condeming their beleifs as "wrong")
    I am ALSO a visual Artist, studying visual arts and university. A task we have been set over this winter solstice holiday is to look into a religion which we have been given. Ive been put into a group with 2 other people to study Judaism. I'm incredibly interested in all religions and have looked off my own back into paganism, wicca and other pagan religions (due to having been brough up around the hippy pagan people) but i also know a bit about christianity and budhism. However Judaism is something i know very little about.
    I know about the persecution of the Jews in the world war.
    I know that you follow the old testiment of the bible but not the new testiment ,and i THINK that you dont beleive Jesus was the son of God but do accept him to have been a phrophet?? (unsure about that)
    Im also terrible with politics and someone mentioned that anything in the papers to do with happenings in Pallestine has referance to the Jewish religion.

To cut this slightly short basically when i get back to university im going to be creating an instalation piece, and something tells me it might be to do with these religions we have been assigned.
    I was wondering if any of you could give me some information about beleifs, festival and celebrations (which is something i have a great interst in as that where i hope to spend my future, creating and helping with communal festivals) also traditional Jewish weddings, funerals etc etc