Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Is ALL tofu gluten-free?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Lilyrayne

Lilyrayne

    Chrisppie

  • Members
  • 2,804 posts

Posted January 15 2005 - 09:52 AM

I posted this over in the Vegetarian forum too thinking that was the best place but then I realized maybe I should have put it here... so here it is again...

Does anyone know if ALL tofu is gluten free? Or is it only some brands? I love tofu but have been depriving myself of it since I discovered that gluten makes me sick, because soy sauce has gluten and for some reason whenever I ate veggie patties and whatnot made from soy protein, I got the same reactions. So I assumed soy = gluten.

But the other day I picked up a package of tofu to check something else out and noticed on the back of this one particular package, it said "Gluten free"!!! So happy, I bought some and have been a tofu maniac the past couple of days. But I wondered if other brands of tofu (gluten not mentioned on packages) could have gluten in them? Or is tofu in general gluten free?

I am beginning to wonder if it was WHEY protein (often included in soy-based products) that was making me sick when I ate soy burgers and etc. I know I am allergic to whey for sure. Maybe that was it and I was never allergic to soy to begin with, although I do know that soy sauce has gluten but that could be somethign else in the soy sauce, because vinegars (except basalmic vinegar) have gluten also.

If anyone knows anything about this, it would be greatly appreciated.


#2 kayte

kayte

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 551 posts

Posted January 16 2005 - 05:12 PM

don't quote me, but i'm almost positive that simple tofu is gluten free. my friends is severely allergic to gluten, and she munches down on tofu all the time. check out tvp, texturized vegetable protein. it's another good tofu-like gluten free source. and tempeh.

#3 Lilyrayne

Lilyrayne

    Chrisppie

  • Members
  • 2,804 posts

Posted January 16 2005 - 07:34 PM

Thanks!!!


#4 Barefoot_Surfer

Barefoot_Surfer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted January 18 2005 - 10:11 AM

Soy sauce would have gluten in it because I think they use wheat in it.

The following web site has some info.

http://www.gicare.co...ted/edtgs06.htm

hope this is of some help.

Matt

#5 drumminmama

drumminmama

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • 14,766 posts
  • LocationPlanet earth, until I find a bigger playground

Posted January 19 2005 - 05:33 PM

gluten is from wheat and closely related grains (triticale...maybe rye...check that)
tofu is gluten free, in it's basic form.
Pete's Tofu 2Go and other prepared tofu can have flour dusting.
Tempeh can have wheat..check.
Wheat free soy sauces exist.
can you say this with me, bree? Go ask at ...The Earth. Kate knows her shit.
Have long hair? Come talk!
Flowing Tresses