Because I Am A Girl

Discussion in 'U.K.' started by morrow, Feb 23, 2017.

1. morrow

morrow Visitor

4 people like this.
  2. BlackBillBlake

BlackBillBlake resigned HipForums Supporter

As a long time member and supporter of Amnesty International, I've taken part in campaigns going back 20 years over this issue. It is a sick and barbaric thing.

I think the problem is that the people who do it see it as normal and part of their culture, and ingrained cultural attitudes are very difficult to change. But we have to keep going until this is relegated to the past - like foot binding in China.

1 person likes this.
  3. autophobe2e

autophobe2e Senior Member

When I worked in a hospital we had guidelines on what to do if someone approached you asking if you knew where they could have it done. Shokcing to think that some people not only think that such practices are acceptable, but that they'll find someone to do them in an NHS hospital.

1 person likes this.
  4. morrow

morrow Visitor

I remember watching a program years ago!
    The screams from a child having it done, I will never forget!
    Then the young bride brought into hospital, her husband had been unable to have sex with her, so had attacked her genitals with a knife!
    Then the new mother that had almost died having her baby, and was wanting herself stitching as tight as she was before they opened her so her baby could come out!
    That program was harowing, to say the least! But I never forgot it!
    And never will! An episiotomy is nothing to what those girls have to go through!
    We should never let this go!
    If you have the chance, you should stand up for them!

1 person likes this.
  5. Maid A. Milking

Maid A. Milking Members