Are African American Men More Secure In Their Sexuality?

Discussion in 'Lesbian, Gay, Bi, Trans, etc.' started by Jimbee68, Jan 4, 2017.

1. Jimbee68

Jimbee68 Member

I guess I can tell you all, I am a white male. But I have spent a lot of time around African Americans.

I grew up in an African American neighborhood. My grade school was about half AA, when I graduated.

And one thing I seemed to notice, African Americans, African American men in particular, seem to be more secure in their sexuality, than white men.

I'll share with you all a few of my observations. I know among black boys, calling them gay wasn't the worst put down you could use. Or in any event, it didn't seem to make them too angry. The following year, when I went to an all-white high school, it was actually a prelude to a serious fight, I soon found out.

Also, take this whatever way you wish, African American men often wear hairstyles and other things that white men would consider, well, effeminate. Braids, corn rolls, beads in their hair. Also, I think it is an established fact, that black men often form closer friendships with other males, than white men do. Among white men, it is often called a bromance, or other words that I can't repeat, that imply homosexuality. Because there is this code, among white men, that men are not supposed to become that close, even when it is clearly non-sexual. I surely am not the first person to notice all these things.