What Do People Think When They See My Peace Symbol?

Discussion in 'Hippies' started by Jimbee68, Nov 7, 2016.

1. Jimbee68

Jimbee68 Member

As I've said before, I am kind of an anachronistic hippie. Born in 1968, so too young to be a true hippie, I guess. So I wear a peace symbol. I wear it to mean hippie, though. Not necessarily peace.

More on that. I actually am more of a pragmatist, than a pacifist. Although I think peace should always be tried first. And politically, I guess you could say, I am very independent. I make up my own mind. I don't need anyone else to tell my what category I fit in.

But there is no symbol for hippie--or independent. So I have been wearing a peace sign, in one form or another, for about 15-20 years now. So what do people think when they see it? I should also point out, I typically dress somewhat conservatively too. Certainly nothing else I wear says hippie, or anything like that.

Oh, yeah. And quick story on how I got the peace sign. About 20 years ago or so, I was at this floor sale at a local college. And this man was selling Rastafarian jewelry. And I noticed he was selling a peace sign that was the exact size I wanted. But it had Rastafarian beads on it. But I noticed, they could easily be taken off. I didn't have enough money with me at the time to buy it, too. But when I told him, he said "No problem, mon". Wasn't that nice of him? I do still wonder, though, why he thought a white boy like me would be buying Rastafarian trinkets :artist: [​IMG] .

But my original question: What do people think?

:daisy: :daisy: [​IMG]

2. OldDude2

OldDude2 Newbie

If you don't post a photo, we can't comment what we think of it.

3. Irminsul

Irminsul Valkyrie

I see runes :unsure:

1 person likes this.
  4. Jimbee68

Jimbee68 Member

I don't have a photo. But as I said, it is a small peace sign, I wear around my neck, along with generally conservative attire. HTH :) .

5. NoxiousGas

NoxiousGas Old Fart