What Makes One A Loser?

Discussion in 'Random Thoughts' started by sennyguy, Aug 5, 2016.

1. sennyguy

sennyguy Members

I'm in a moody way this evening.

I was just curious what people's definitions are of "loser".

I often think of myself as a loser, but there are people in my life who think very highly of me. I can't figure it out. Somedays I agree with them, and days like today, I think they are nuts.

Some info on me:

I'm 27, finished college two years ago. I got my Bachelor's and Masters' in music/violin performance. I currently do make a little money with music, although not a ton. I have part time contracts with a couple of professional orchestras, and I play for weddings pretty frequently. I'm not terrible at the violin, but I'm not great either. I probably couldn't win a major orchestra audition. I work fairly hard to just maintain my playing, let alone improve.

I took up a part time job as I do not make enough to live on from just music stuff. So, I work 30 hours a week in Accounts Receivable as an office assistant. I only make 10 an hour, but it essentially pays for my rent, car insurance, and gas/food.

Currently attempting to find a half decent paying full time job with health insurance, as I want to make more money and I have an obamacare health plan (which I frankly don't even need, I haven't gotten sick in 4 years). Oh, I also have a lot of student loan debt.

I've always had problems with being social. I have a few friends who are close, but I rarely seem them, as we all seem to be too busy for each other any more. I've also never been good with women. I'm a guy who yearns for a sexually and emotionally fulfilling relationship, but I just haven't done well on this. I've been told that I just need more confidence, but I simply don't really understand it. I used to be pretty overweight, but I've slimmed down a lot.