Beliefs About Love Are Like Religious Beliefs?

Discussion in 'Love and Sex' started by DumDum, May 1, 2016.

1. DumDum

DumDum Banned

I'm a 25 year-old ugly virgin. I have deformities and many physical and mental issues. When my people decide they want to get onto the topic of relationships and sex in discussions with me, I always sit quietly and let them do the talking. After sitting there for many minutes just nodding along to what they're saying, they usually wonder why I have not added anything to the conversation. As if they couldn't tell by looking at me that sex and relationships are not my areas of expertise, they usually ask me what my opinions are and what experiences I could share with them, to which I always say "nothing really, I'm no expert on that."

Many people ask if I'm married or dating someone and I just tell them "no, I don't date". Some people will take that to mean that I don't date, I just have one-off affairs. But what it really means is that I don't have any sexual, intimate, or romantic relations or engagement with anyone. It's just something I DON'T do.

This is where we get to the core of the conversation. The key question they always ask is "why". This question is frustrating on its core because they are essentially asking you to unpack your entire life's story, experiences, and philosophies that led you to this point. I still don't have one good panacea of an answer for these types of questions.