Do You Consider Yourself A Counter-Culturist?

Discussion in 'Hippies' started by Fairlight, Feb 18, 2015.

1. Fairlight

Fairlight Banned

I have hippie sympathies but don't subscribe to the whole deal because my life is pretty sharp and I have a degree of directed hate and anger.Anarchy appeals as a kind if lifestyle option and sub-cultural group with which to identify but I am unconvinced as to how it could work in practice.Taking drugs,dropping out and entertaining outlandish beliefs are a big fuck you to the system but what effect are we actually having to change the system.They have the status quo strongly under control,through law enforcement agencies,cyber control,ideological state apparatus and a mass media agenda whose interest is mostly aimed at supressing large scale dissent.

Groups like Anonymous and WikiLeaks seem to be an effect of positive dissent,but I don't see them having the large scale impact we need to effect.

Do we want to just try and live slightly under the radar,enjoying are at times illegal pleasures,engaging with the system as we must to survive,comprising our freedom and just enjoying the fugue states of our limited freedoms in some strange fugue state of the mind,or are we prepared to unite as peoples of all colours and strengthen our resolve through forthright communications that pointedly try to crash the agenda with all our conflicting truths in a way,perhaps using potentially dangerous situationist techniques of societal normality that the majority might find uncomfortable to accept.