What's Your Songwriting Process?

Discussion in 'Musicians' started by JayInTheLife, Nov 7, 2014.

1. JayInTheLife

JayInTheLife Members

Fellow Musicians!

I'm just interested in chatting about songwriting tips. I'm not very experienced with writing lyrics. Sometimes I will be putting together some riffs and chord progressions, then one line will come about. I try to build off of it but I usually end up with a verse or two with nothing else. Maybe I'm too much of a perfectionist but I find I have a hard time finishing a song. Sometimes I will say okay, going to write a song then nothing. I try to think of a subject and just have a block.

Okay anyways, I was just wondering what your processes were for writing songs? How do you go about it?

2. Terrapin2190

Terrapin2190 I am nature.

Ah, man. I have so many unfinished songs in my electronic notepad haha. And my personal notebook. I usually put the songs I think are really good on pen and paper. Anyways, it's not easy most times trying to write lyrics for a song. There are various poetic systems you can use, though it's kind of difficult to describe the process of tranferring lyrics from your mind into the "physical" world. I don't really get writer's block though, per sey. It's more like just get stuck sometimes. I'll be cruising along telling a story, most of the time rhyming at the end of stanzas and all of a sudden bam. Where do I go from here?? I usually try to think in a circular motion, try to stay on topic... It might be easier if I could give some examples here, I feel like I'm not really helping since it's so hard to describe my lyric writing process. One thing is for sure though, it's almost always easier to put lyrics to music rather than music to lyrics.