Thread of ways to make gardening cheaper and easier!

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by Thravers, Mar 20, 2013.

1. Thravers

Thravers Guest

I am new to gardening, but I love it!! I also thought I'd share this

Don't through out your garbage, reuse it!

I made a mini green house from things I found in the trash :)

View attachment 51213

It's a bit difficult to see in the picture but basically its a plastic re-closing cake container and some cardboard egg cartons (egg shells would add more nutrients into the ground). As most of you know, the cardboard can go right into the dirt for easier transplanting.

For those of you with a smaller growing space, try vertical growing! I think its a great idea, here is a site http://www.easywaystosavemoney.com.au/blog/1098/verical-garden-5-of-the-cheapest-and-easiest-gardens
    post your ideas people:daisy:

2. homeschoolmama

homeschoolmama Senior Member

That's a lovely little greenhouse!

A few ideas I've seen are 2-liter bottles cut open to use as cloches, paving your walkways with reclaimed pallets, laying down old newspaper to kill weeds between rows, (my mom's been doing that for decades!) putting four doors together to make a cute mini-shed, making a watering can out of a hole-poked plastic jug, slicing milkjugs to make mini-greenhouses, the newspaper starter-pots that you fold yourselves & just plant as-is... there are TONS of ways to reuse items for your garden!

love,
    mom

3. Lostsoul667

Lostsoul667 Member

if your going to take pallets from businesses make sure you ask the manager first. My mother just told me about a man that got arrested in my town for taking pallets outside a wally world i think.

First time i've ever heard of anyone pressing charges for that. I mean usually businesses don't even press charges for shoplifting, when i worked at sears they wouldn't. I hear the same for krogers and meijer.

4. Aerianne

Aerianne Lifetime Supporter Lifetime Supporter