I Bought A Van. But I Don't Have A Plan.

Discussion in 'Backpackers Message Forum' started by ytlisasimpson, Oct 4, 2012.

1. ytlisasimpson

ytlisasimpson Member

I bought a van and quit my job with no real plan. I think I want to move to Colorado. (I'm in Ann Arbor, Michigan, currently.)

I did my fair share of cross-country hitching as a teen, but then I settled down and did the college thing. I've been working the 40-hr/week for a few years now and I believe I have lost my mind!!! I'm trying to get back to my free-spirited core self and reconnect with the land and people again.

I guess I'm looking for someone to travel with and maybe "settle down" with to save on costs! I've been looking at Denver as a place to move. I am open to other ideas though as I could have a job already lined up in Savannah, Georgia. I would love to live in a touristy beach area, like Santa Cruz or Daytona Beach. I love Oregon and Northern Cali with all my heart.

I really don't know what to do with my life, so I'm just following the universe and it's direction right now. It's told me to quit my job and buy a van and end my lease. I've gotten this far. Let me know if you have any suggestions or need a partner in crime or want to move somewhere away from the midwest or if you just want to cheer me on.

Thanks for reading!!

2. newbie-one

newbie-one one with the newbiverse

Choose the neighbor before the house and the companion before the road

- Arabic Proverb

3. absentwithin

absentwithin Member

Good luck. I've often wanted to just cut and run. I like the north west but something about florida has always called me. Some day. Happy Travels.

4. desert-rat

desert-rat Senior Member

I would say look at the areas that you think you might get a job first . Even if it is temp work , you could live in a k.o.a. ect. A lot of bosses only hire local people . desert rat

5. Ranger

Ranger Hip Forums Supporter HipForums Supporter