Any self-taught musicians?

Discussion in 'Performing Arts' started by bluegypsyrain, Mar 24, 2012.

1. bluegypsyrain

bluegypsyrain Member

Any self-taught musicians out there? If so, what instrument(s)?

I learned to play the "song flute" (recorder) back when dinosaurs roamed the earth. I finally caught on to reading music, just before the end of the academic year, at which time I could have kept my recorder for the affordable price of $1, but my mother wouldn't agree. Then, in junior high, I wanted to join the school orchestra, but we couldn't afford to rent an instrument, so instead of learning to play the cello, I learned viola, as it was the only available loaner.

Since then, I have begun teaching (or re-teaching) myself acoustic guitar, recorder, tin whistle, and viola, and have plans for ukelele and flute, and anything else I can get my hands on. I kept every music book my kids ever had, and pick them up at second hand stores whenever possible. I am building my collection of newer songbooks, slowly but surely, but a (hopefully) temporary financial hiccup has put that plan on the back burner. I prefer the PVG (piano/vocal/guitar) as they are multi-purpose. So far, I have two Beatles, one Jack Johnson, one Queen, and one Green Day. Since I started out learning the notes, rather than chords, I have discovered that a good portion of the charm of a hit song lies with the artist's ability to elaborate on the written music...I know--news flash! :)