Growing edible mushrooms?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by ripple, Jan 27, 2012.

1. ripple

ripple Member

Here's what I've been doing this afternoon. I've never tried to grow mushrooms like this before, except from the polystyrene boxed kits you can buy from garden centres. The dowels contain Shiitake mycelium. I doubt I will get a crop this year, but maybe next. If they are successful, they should fruit for 5-7 years! Here's some pics:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    All I could find were Birch and Willow. Not ideal. I'm on the lookout for recently felled Oak and Beech trees. There was strong winds a few weeks back, so lots of trees have been blown down.

[​IMG]
    Dowels hammered into drilled holes, and sealed with hot wax to stop any unwanted fungus getting in, or moisture from the logs getting out.

Anyone tried growing musgrooms on logs before, and were you successful?

2. poor_old_dad

poor_old_dad Senior Member

Yes, I've grown them using hardwood logs for... I don't know, at least 15 years. They've been a very important source of cash here at my farm. I'm pressed for time right now, but most important advice is, DO NOT LET THE LOGS DRY OUT. Never, ever, ever....
    They are the perfect organic crop, you can't fertilize them, or spray them for bugs.... none of that stuff exists.

Peace,
    poor_old_dad

3. ripple

ripple Member

Thanks for the tip. Do you think I should seal the ends of the logs with wax to keep more moisture in? I was going to lay them direct on the ground at the top of the garden, do you think this is a good idea? I could always cover them up with something damp, like a wet hessian sack

4. poor_old_dad