How much work should I expect on a new allotment?

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by Vuur, Nov 3, 2011.

1. Vuur

Vuur Member

Hi everyone,
    I've recently been allocated a small allotment :):daisy:
    When I signed up, I chose the half-plot (about 60 m2) over the full plot(120) on advice of other gardener's, since I am new to it. I only have experience growing vegetables & fruit on my very small balcony, so digging and composting were not involved.

I am now wondering how much work I should expect to have to do?
    I have dug it over partly last week and planted whatever I had, but that seems to be it for now.
    I must admit, that I had expected this to be more work already!
    I do realize that the season is coming to an end here (Netherlands).

Could you advice on how much time I might be spending in spring and summer?
    One of the reasons is, that I have planned so many veg/fruit-plants for the plot that I will probably be running out of space before the summer, so I am wondering if I should have applied for a full plot. I am probable far too ambitous ;)

2. GardenGuy

GardenGuy Senior Member

Let's get more specific, please.
    Some vegetable plants have a life cycle that ends in the middle of summer and the space it once occupied is available once again. It is probably best to grow something OTHER than what you planted early in the growing season.

Mulch or landscape fabric around your plants can reduce your need for intense labour.
    You can use a hoe or cultivator between the rows and keep your garden clean and weedfree with only a few minutes work as long as the tedious work of weeding around delicate plants is eliminated.

Planting cucumbers or peas on a trellis takes a little extra labor to establish the trellis, but will save labor and space when weeding and harvesting.

Perhaps you can visit neighboring garden plots to get a better idea of the space that a mature vegetable plant requires.