Mathematics: any fans of higher-level mathematics?

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by etkearne, Apr 4, 2011.

1. etkearne

etkearne Resident Pharmacologist

I just wanted to see if any of the Hip people here have any experience with higher-level mathematics. By that, I mean things that require proof-writing ability and abstraction, and generally post-Calculus subjects. Some topics include:

1. Vector Spaces (aka Linear Algebra II)
    2. Real Analysis (aka Advanced Calculus)
    3. Group Theory (aka Abstract Algebra)
    4. Topology (not topography haha)

I am only in my first year of graduate school for mathematics, so I am no expert in these subjects, but I have a working knowledge of them. I find Mathematics incredibly interesting and mind-expanding...dare I say more so than any psychedelic drug.

Relevant to the Hip crowd would be discussion of things like

1. Philosophy of Mathematics- what are numbers? Is mathematics essentially equivalent to people's idea of a "God"?
    2. Struggles in math- are you also a grad student who struggles with impossible problem sets and proofs.
    3. Drugs and Math- it is well-known that mathematical researchers dabble in stimulants (mainly) and sometimes psychedelics and other drugs. How do drugs effect your mathematical ability? I will tell MY tale of mathematics and drugs (in my case, Adderall) if you want.

Tell me about your math experiences

2. thedope

thedope glad attention Lifetime Supporter

The highest math I know is that multiplication is quick addition.

3. Nostromo

Nostromo Member

Not I.

But my son is ending his fourth year of college (out of a 5-yr program) and is a math major. He loves math. He says he wants to get a math phd; and thinks (hopes) he has a decent shot at a post-grad program at washington university, st louis. I'm pretty sure he's had all that you mentioned and others that come afterwards. And he's always talking about some arcane proof he's investigating or writing. :p