Better to dye hair dirty or clean?

Discussion in 'Body Modification' started by DiscoPhish, Oct 23, 2010.

1. DiscoPhish

DiscoPhish Member

i frequently dye my hair but i always wondered wether my hair being dirty or clean when i dye it effects the vibrancy/longevity of the color. i believe the box says unwashed hair but does that mean its better if it hasnt been washed in a couple days or just still relatively clean?

2. lunarverse

lunarverse The Living End

I would think that it would be best to dye it when it's clean. Like skin, when dirty the pores of your hairs become clogged with dirt, and thus I'd imagine the dye would not be absorbed into the pores as well.

3. monkeyeatbutt

monkeyeatbutt Member

I have found clean to be the best. Im not a pro but i have done my hair a million times and this is my thinking.

If i wash dry and then dye my hair is not at healthy feeling.
    If i dont wash for 2 days the color is not as nice.
    If i wash during the day and dont do much to get me nasty and then dye later that night or wash b4 bed and dye in the morning I get nice hair.

I think you want some natural oils on your hair to protect it but if its to dirty it will have a hard time coloring your hair because you will have oil and dirt blocking the pores of your hair (if they are called pores).

Like i said Im not a pro but from doing my own hair and friends hair so many times thats what i have come up with.
    The worst job i did was quite a few years ago, i had been outside all day jerking around and came in after dark to do my hair, I used 2 bottles covered every bit of my hair. It was bad, i had placed that didnt hold any color, places that were not even close to the same color. It was a mess for a while.