Are you barefoot all the time?

Discussion in 'Barefoot' started by Mezz, Jul 15, 2010.

1. Mezz

Mezz Member

I'm new to this and have been trying to go barefoot as much as I can as I enjoy the freedom of it... but I was wondering if there were places you choose to not go barefoot? I hike a lot and do a lot of bush whacking (off trail through thick bush), do you wear footwear there? what about work and school? Do you find your feet get used to the new textures over time (my walking speed slowed considerably from walking on rocks and other hurtfull things). Anyways, just curious, I am new to the concept and was looking to see how you guys adapted to being shoeless.

2. barefootman

barefootman Member

I think over time, I realized that being barefoot was just part of who I am. If I can accept that then others can too. I don't even think about whether I am wearing shoes or not. I go everywhere with really no problems. People get used to seeing me as I am.

3. jagerhans

jagerhans Far out, man. Lifetime Supporter

there are (a very few) places i don't frequent barefoot but just in order to avoid confrontation because i don't want to be noticed or harassed or raise arguments. shops and offices are no problem. there are no surfaces who discourage me from going barefoot themselves except extremely hot sand and deep snow over long times and long motorcycle rides on highways. i do cross barefoot thick bushes and thorny fields , love mud and frozen grass, gravel is ok. only thorns really slow me down because it is a part of the game finding the best path. after really long walks on aggressive surfaces i tend to slow down if my feet start feeling sore.