Economic Stimulus 4-Day Cruise

Discussion in 'Postcards from Planet Earth' started by Shale, Sep 13, 2009.

1. Shale

Shale ~

I wasn't really planning to take a cruise in September but with the economy now the cruise companies seem to be trying to fill cabins and the price was just too good to pass up. So, call this the Economic Stimulus 4-Day Cruise to Nassau and Key West.

As usual, living in Miami Beach, my only connection to make was a Metro Bus and a hot muggy walk on September 7, 2009.

Shale Walking into Port of Miami (My Ship in Background)
    [​IMG]

Shale on Deck of Royal Caribbean Majesty of the Seas in the Port of Miami
    [​IMG]

After an overnight trip we entered Nassau. This is my first time visiting Nassau (except for a flight change back in the '70s).

Nassau from Ship
    [​IMG]

I learned something this trip. While walking around Nassau I saw a black/blue/gold flag everywhere. That is the actual Bahamas flag. The one I had been seeing for years of travel has been the large, mostly red flag with a white cross. The actual Bahamas flag is in the upper left quadrant of that flag. (Almost every ship is registered in Nassau because of economic benefits - and I noted two Carnival cruise ships in port with Bahamian flags and thought "The Ships Come Home to Roost")

Bahamian Flag on Ship
    [​IMG]

2. Shale

Shale ~

As usual I like to just walk around. Been doing that in most cities of the world that I have visited. So it was a trek up a very steep hill to see the old fort that protected this port in the 18th Century.

Fort Fincastle, Nassau - Built 1794
    [​IMG]

You can see the advantage of its position on the hill. Our ship would have been in range of this cannon.

Fort Fincastle Cannon Overlooking Nassau
    [​IMG]

And of course I had to get a tourist pic to show that I was there.

Shale with Cannon
    [​IMG]