I want to homeschool...how?

Discussion in 'Home Schooling' started by green faerie, Sep 18, 2007.

1. green faerie

green faerie m L e

okay, so i'm a junior in south carolina. i realllly want to homeschool, my mom is a teacher and is willing to let me but isnt big on instructing me because she knows i'm fully capable of teaching myself (about a year total of my high school has been self paced, self taught online and on paper study in alternative programs). i plan on going to community college and need some sort of viable diploma because my mom is vehemently opposed to me having a GED. oh and whatever i do has to be cheap, we aren't exactly rolling in money. how should i do this? i've never homeschooled before, i'm pretty much clueless.

2. xexon

xexon Destroyer Of Worlds

The laws are different for each state. You will have to inquire locally for the regulations where you live.

Ask your school teachers. I bet they can point you in the right direction.

On the other hand, your senior year is extra special. Think long and hard about giving that up.

x

3. green faerie

green faerie m L e

oh i definately have no desire to stay in school, especially not a whole year after this one. theres nothing special about school to me. but i finally got in touch with my guidance counselor and this is seeming a better and more attainable option by the second.

4. Valdis

Valdis Member

You can do this.

Some teachers however may not be helpful or supportive percieving this will threaten thier jobs in some way.

You might see if you qualify for a program from your school that lets you finish at home or for dual enrollment in college for both college and high school credit.

Remember all information is worth having.

First research your state laws and get your legal ducks in a row. Seek local support and advice.

Second research home schooling with an eye to what method(s) of education you want to employ.