Cavestock/Cavefest!!!!

Discussion in 'Events and Festivals' started by limetree, Aug 9, 2007.

1. limetree

limetree Member

A few times a year, in Southern Illinois (Murphysboro) in Shawnee cave theres various forms of what is broadly called "cavefest" its fun times, lots of good hippie type bands, and a rave tent. Anyone familiar, ive been once, april 2007. for my birthday weekend. its like leaving earth. any good stories from it?

Anyways, the fall one is coming up, September 21, 2007.
    Cant wait!

2. saluki420

saluki420 Member

I've been to a couple cavestock/cavefest back when I was in college at SIUC. They were really good times with a good mix of people and bands. I'm not really a festival expert so I can't compare it to any other ones like Schwag, Bonaroo, or Wakarusa; but like I said it was a good time. My friends and I always thought the best spot to camp was imediately inside the gate take a right and go down that way. You can access the parking lot pretty easily and if you you like steep and dangerous trails there's one down to the cave (trust me, don't go down it when you are too intoxicated). Anyway, Santa and his friends (who I always thought were rainbow from Shawnee, but maybe I'm wrong) throw a pretty cool festival so enjoy!

3. dead2dacore

dead2dacore Member

i was at the 4/20 cavefest, it was pretty chill time.. although i thought the music sucked, the atmosphere was pretty cool. ill probably be out there for the fall fest

4. dead2dacore

dead2dacore Member

do u have a link for the fest's website? i couldnt find one

5. limetree

limetree Member

its hard to find a direct link, at catalyticsouls they usually have a page about the current event at the cave. heres the link there, click on events http://catalyticsouls.com/

otherwise, http://www.myspace.com/shawneecave but this coming cavefest doesnt seem to be on it. i know i saw it around somewhere ill find it and post it here.