Homeschooling via D&D

Discussion in 'Home Schooling' started by Bucket Von Harmony, Jun 20, 2007.

1. Bucket Von Harmony

Bucket Von Harmony Member

I live on a hippy commune in virginia. Last winter I agreed to help homeschool a young boy here on the farm 1 a week.

I've been homeschooling a 6 yr old for about 6 months now. The first 1-2 months were really hard. He would negotiate and fight and distract for about 1.5 hours and I usually only got in about 30 mins of lessons in our 2 hour sessions.

I went on a little vacation and hatched a plan. I had stumbled across a set of Dungeons and Dragons rule books. He loves video games and ther Lord of the Rings. I decided to see if I could create a homeschooling cirriculim using dungeons and dragons as the medium and reward mechanism.

It has worked out great. He will focus really hard on the math problems knowing that there might a new item or treasure behind each puzzle he solves. He's using his creative energy to it's fullest potential and he's creating his own way of solving math problems.

We've shot through addition and subtraction in the 1000's, he has had no problems figuring out simple cyphers and finishing number patterns. We've done a lot of pre-algebra.

The charts and graphs of all the skills draw his interest. He is being constantly drilled in simple addition (he does not have a lot of addition memorised, he mostly uses his fingers for addition) by adding modifiers to dice rolls.

And I am having a blast. it has turned somthing I've dreaded into somthing I enjoy. His younger friend has joined him and they sometimes compete to see who can solve the math puzzles first, or cooperate and explain to eachother their methods and shortcuts for solving problems.

Anyhow.. I'm having a blast and it's time to continue our quest to get the Lunar Chain Mail in the ancient temple to Ishtar currently infested by Gnolls (who seek to revive the anciet wyrm Tiamat!)

-bucket

2. Nalencer

Nalencer Dig Yourself