Having a hard time picking a career path

Discussion in 'Higher Ed' started by Lilyrayne, May 12, 2004.

1. Lilyrayne

Lilyrayne Chrisppie

Ever since I graduated High School, I have not been able to decide what I want to do with my life, especially that would require a college education. I had originaly decided not to go to college, but I over the years (I'm 24) I have been going on and off, just taking the basics and one fun class.

I only have so many "basics" left that I can take before I have to pick a direction I'm going in college, because I will have to start taking classes for that path. The problem is I am still not sure what in the world I want to do with my life. Occasionally I will think of something that sounds good and think that's what I want, but later on when I come back to it and decide to start on it, I decide I don't want it after all.

What I want to do with my life, career-wise, has fluctuated between occasionally things that require a college degree, and more often things that don't, like dog training or photography.

I don't know if I just want a career that requires a degree because I feel like it has more prestige and better income or if that's what I reallly wanna do. I don't know if I want a career that doesn't require a degree because I am afraid I won't make it through college, or if that's just honestly what I want to do.

It has been suggested to me that I visit a career counselor at college, and I guess I could do that, but I don't think it would help much.