Why Pot Is Illegal

Discussion in 'Cannabis Activism' started by deadsilence020, Jun 14, 2005.

1. deadsilence020

deadsilence020 Member

(Sources are from the Documentary "Grass" - If you havn't seen it, you should)

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting, I am a very new member.

Grass, although people have been smoking it for thousands of years, it didnt reach the USA until the mexicans came in looking for work in El Paso, Texas. The white people didnt like these people... so they made a law banning posession of Marijuana (because they liked to smoke it).

Years passed, lots (we are skipping a few minor Marijuana banning laws and such throught the state). A man named Harry J Anslinger, Commis. of the Federal Bur. Of Narcotics, started a Campaign against the drug, (for whatever his reason, must have had a stick up his ass or something against mexicans), he couldnt get Marijauana acts passed alone, so he wanted to get the people of the country terrified of this drug, so he started Radio Ads, TV Ads, Movie Ads, every possible media source, and lied in them. Ex: Marijuana Kills you, It will make you Insane, You will kill other people. So people, in all their wisdom, were scared shitless and asked congress to make new laws banning the narcotic all over.