single, WAHM and homeschooling

Discussion in 'Home Schooling' started by kitty fabulous, Jan 31, 2006.

1. kitty fabulous

kitty fabulous smoked tofu

is anyone else here a work at home mom? i'm unschooling my kids, and where i'm living right now there is not much job opportunity so i'm trying to earn what i can on my own, at home. i'm really new to it, still learning the ropes and the use of my own computer, but it seems like i spend all day in front of a screen and don't have enough time with my kids, who are watching way too much tv. any advice?

2. GlitterintheSky

GlitterintheSky Member

Yea...I'm a homeschool mom who works from home. I got lucky. I do payroll, billing and construction bids for my husband. I also do my FIL's bookwork. I use Quickbooks so it's pretty easy. I probably only put in maybe 15 hours a week. I don't know what kind of work you're looking for but check the local want ads. Alot of smaller businesses out source their paperwork, mailings and such.

As far as my kids watching too much tv, we put a time limit on the amount of tv they can watch. I make them do chores like wash dishes, walk the dogs, and light yard work. It keeps them busy and takes a few chores off of me. Anyway, good luck to you.

3. kitty fabulous

well, obviously i've checked the local want ads. that's why i'm trying to earn online: there are no jobs here.

i'm trying to get started doing tarot readings online with kasamba.com, but i'm having software problems (my brother, who gave me my computer for free, is blindly and fanatically devoted to linux, which is incompatible with everything. grr!) i also hope to be selling art, altered clothes, tarot readings and my new partner's jewelery on ebay, but that will have to come later. other options i've explored are passion parties and doing face painting for children's birthdays.