Fighting "The Man"

Discussion in 'Cannabis Activism' started by Just_Dave, Jan 16, 2012.

1. Just_Dave

Just_Dave Member

Well,

I know I'm new here, but I thought I'd share what's been going on in my county. You see, I don't "smoke" but my wife does. She suffers from chronic pain and has her recommendation. We've been growing for years now (indoor and outdoor) on our 1.5 acre lot in the Sierra Nevada foothills (Amador County to be specific).

Just last month the Board of Supervisors imposed a ban on all outdoor cultivation of medical marijuana. This outraged my wife and I...So much so that it prompted me to take action and publicly "come out". You see, I'm a white collar professional and I have "rubbed shoulders" with many key players in our small rural county and I've been instrumental in building out a wireless network to the foothill community that spans 3 counties now. Even some of the relatives of the Board of Supes are customers of mine.

Therefore, I cut my hair off completely (It had been down past my shoulders for over 15 years now), donned one of my best suits, went before the Board and spoke out against their decision. My intent was to show them a "different" face of a grower...one who contributes to the community, provides a service, is a good neighbor, and is a professional.

There's more I can write but I have to go for now...Stay tuned, but if anyone wants to hear what I've said, I'm on the audio of the last 2 Board of Supervisors meeting available on the Amador County website. We are now working w/ them to craft an ordinance to allow outside cultivation....more to come....
    Here's where I first spoke (see the 9AM audio clip)...
    http://www.co.amador.ca.us/index.aspx?page=624&recordid=2079

I've been speaking regularly since...
    http://www.co.amador.ca.us/index.aspx?page=624

2. Irminsul

Irminsul Valkyrie