Adding Korean to an English written book?

Discussion in 'Writers Forum' started by Mia Smith, Feb 23, 2018.

1. Mia Smith

Mia Smith Members

I'm writing a new book and I the main character and a side character speak Korean to each other, but I've been struggling with how to incorporate the Korean in to the book. Like as an author I know when they are supposed to be speaking Korean rather then English but unlike French or Spanish there it Hangul(symbols) and I feel it looks awkward in the middle of the English and also the reader won't be able to sound out pictures.

Here's an example
    "그냥 꿈" He whispered
    "Just Dream" He whispered in Korean
    Both are just awkward to me personally but I cant think of another way to put Korean into my story. Do you have any advice as writer or readers? Thanks.

2. tumbling.dice

tumbling.dice Visitor

If the book is meant for English speakers then use the closest English translation, the Korean will be meaningless. If it's meant to be for Koreans with a background in English I guess you can dispel with the English translation and just make do with the Hangul.

3. wilsjane

wilsjane Nutty Professor HipForums Supporter

You simply cannot write a book for English speaking readers using chunks of another language. Adding constant references that one of the characters is speaking in another language will simply bore the readers to tears and detract from the storyline.

The art of writing is to introduce the opening characters and an outline of the initial plot in the first, preferably quite short chapter. That is where you make it clear to the readers that the character is Korean and does not speak English. Do not make things too complex, you will only confuse your readers, they will end up confused with the muddled story and give up.